NEW Hyundai Ioniq 5 Review: Tesla FINALLY Meets Its Match? | 4K

Published on Jul 19, 2021
Views 1 115 592
656

Rory's back with a review of the new Hyundai Ioniq 5, an electric car with quirky looks, loads of space inside and some of the most clever tech you'll find on any vehicle. Is it a Tesla killer?

Looking for your next car? Auto Trader will help make finding your next vehicle easier than ever. Compare expert car reviews and recommendations, and find your perfect car through our official USflow channel.

Auto Trader: www.autotrader.co.uk

Check back for the latest new car reviews on everything from SUVs to supercars, plus
✅ the latest car news
✅ top tips and car advice
✅ used and new car guides
✅ best-ofs

Subscribe for more from Auto Trader UK: bit.ly/1AqiIny
Want to be the first to see our new videos? Enable notifications

Looking for more inspiration? 🚗
• Auto Trader: www.autotrader.co.uk
• Facebook: autotraderuk
• Twitter: AutoTrader_UK
• Instagram: autotraderuk
• Pinterest: www.pinterest.co.uk/autotrade...

AutoTrader
Comments  
  • Syed Mirage Faredie

    Syed Mirage Faredie

    2 hours ago

    Kill Tesla. Hyundai is a sensible car company of South Korea who have challenged Japanese dominance. I think most of their vehicles are successful.

  • Paul Bossky

    Paul Bossky

    23 hours ago

    Why are you destroying trees? It wasn't funny.

  • Google User

    Google User

    Day ago

    "Maybe if you're stuck for hours waiting to charge it the reclining seats will be useful." That or check into a hotel. The future of motoring.

  • Norbert Hajas

    Norbert Hajas

    Day ago

    what's with that shitty diagonal line though???

  • Duncan Idaho

    Duncan Idaho

    Day ago

    How good is Rory? This good.

  • UteZ

    UteZ

    Day ago

    I'm interested in this because there's no stupid center console divide that prevents you from sliding across between the front seats like all other cars.

  • Tony Martin

    Tony Martin

    2 days ago

    Sadly, it is no longer coming the the US in 2021.

  • Art Cole

    Art Cole

    2 days ago

    It's pronounced HUN-DAY, like SUNDAY. Not hi-un-day. It's a Korean word and you don't use phonics to pronounce it. Think, "the Y is silent". Thanks and great review Rory.

  • MaloMusic

    MaloMusic

    2 days ago

    Another crossover.... pfff I WANT BIGGG (is it just me?)

  • Keking

    Keking

    2 days ago

    Wow what a car

  • Quantumese Boy

    Quantumese Boy

    3 days ago

    Koreans are busy trying to get into luxury market, what is your answer to ID3??

  • M Stelios

    M Stelios

    3 days ago

    Looks like a Delorean? lol more like a Golf

  • Pinocchio

    Pinocchio

    3 days ago

    If consumers have been smarter in the past we would have all this 10 years ago

  • Christian Højgaard

    Christian Højgaard

    4 days ago

    But surely there must be some niggles? He doesn't mention anything, though.

  • Nick Ligon

    Nick Ligon

    4 days ago

    I don't want to watch anyone else give vehicle reviews. This guy is amazing!

  • Mike Taylor

    Mike Taylor

    4 days ago

    Horrendous looking though!!

  • valleysofneptune

    valleysofneptune

    4 days ago

    Nope, still can't charge from my 2nd floor flat. Infrastructure is dire still

  • Larry Chats

    Larry Chats

    4 days ago

    It’s a nice car, but this isn’t even TOUCHING Tesla lmao

    • Larry Chats

      Larry Chats

      15 hours ago

      @99SamIAm99 I mean to me in every aspect. Price, Speed, Turn radius, & don’t even get me started on AI lol

    • 99SamIAm99

      99SamIAm99

      15 hours ago

      Larry Chats "It’s a nice car, but this isn’t even TOUCHING Tesla lmao" In what way? Personally, as much as I like Tesla, having no physical buttons in the car for simple, everyday things is a deal breaker.

  • Jacqui Orme

    Jacqui Orme

    4 days ago

    Love the review but it's a shame it's out of date already unless UK is not getting cameras in each side instead or wing mirrors also watching reviews from korean English speaking youtubers there's a new use for Lane departure system apparently, when on a highway all you gave to do is indicate (I know some drivers might have to remember where the stick is lol) it actually changes lane for you.

  • Dom Flood

    Dom Flood

    4 days ago

    i mean yeah its awesome deffo a tesla rival but its basically the same price...

  • Olsen Daniel

    Olsen Daniel

    4 days ago

    Hehe the car is from Norway🇳🇴

  • monsoon888

    monsoon888

    5 days ago

    I know everyone seems to love the look and I like the look of the back and the front but I really don't like how it looks from the side. If it didn't have all those extra cuts/slashes on the side I really think this would perfect. Either way, it is definitely worth a test drive due to everything else it seems to have going for it.

  • Alan Campbell

    Alan Campbell

    5 days ago

    Great parking feature, squeeze it in and the person you park next to can't get in. Good thinking if you own a bodywork shop specialising in car park dings 🙂

  • neohimself

    neohimself

    5 days ago

    No guys, Tesla doesnt meet its match. All the others sell EV´s (a really good one in this case), Tesla sells the whole system. Great car, great infrastructure, great software. Like buying the future.

  • Look East

    Look East

    5 days ago

    Great for delivering milk in the early hours!

  • clip marie

    clip marie

    5 days ago

    It's 2021. It's been long enough and the cars have been good enough that you lot learn how to say Hyundai properly.

  • fotoloco

    fotoloco

    5 days ago

    Thank you for the review! It would be great to add / translate the information in kilometers for the rare countries that use km instead of miles...

  • hyperspaced77

    hyperspaced77

    6 days ago

    I love the looks of this car. I think it would look even better in white. The solar roof is a nice addition too. Imagine having parked your car in your workplace's parking lot for 8-10 hours under the Greek scorching sun. Even if you harvest 1-2 Km of range every hour, this can amount to 10-20 free Km a day!
    Infotainment system though is nowhere near Tesla I'm afraid :(

    • 99SamIAm99

      99SamIAm99

      15 hours ago

      hyperspaced77 "I love the looks of this car. I think it would look even better in white." I ordered one in white. It was the only Canadian option for those light seats. I happen to like that blue better.

  • John Smith

    John Smith

    6 days ago

    I would buy one of these although not with a solar roof. When they appear I will buy one.

  • PlNKUHOSHI

    PlNKUHOSHI

    6 days ago

    1:47 "Really responsive" I can literally see it lagging as you scroll left and right on the screen.

  • Shannon

    Shannon

    7 days ago

    Glossed over the self driving feature as if it didn't matter, which means it sucks. Only showed us a "self parking" job that was so simple that it was downright unnecessary and would probably take longer to use the "self parking" than to do it myself? Come on. If they're limited or aren't very good, show me that too. It's supposed to be a review, not a sales pitch. In either case, looks like a very good job by Hyundai for most of what was actually detailed - except for how UGLY it is.

  • DJI Drone Travel

    DJI Drone Travel

    7 days ago

    amazing car 😍

  • Taylor Anderson

    Taylor Anderson

    7 days ago

    Can't imagine trying to take a nap with that seat reclined and the head restraint pushing my head so far forward like many cars today. It's like forward head posture has become normal.

    • 99SamIAm99

      99SamIAm99

      15 hours ago

      Taylor Anderson "It's like forward head posture has become normal." I've got a Kia Sportage. It has the same kind of head rest. If you think about getting in a crash, you don't want your head to be too far from the headrest. So I get why they did this. But it can be annoying. Try drinking the last bit from a water bottle with that thing.

  • junejuly animations

    junejuly animations

    7 days ago

    If there's a reason to buy an electric car, this is it.

  • AK 565

    AK 565

    7 days ago

    "Privacy with your passenger" ... I like how you think.

  • Stephen Henion

    Stephen Henion

    7 days ago

    Recently purchased the Hyundai Elantra. This company is so impressive with their scope of design and engineering!! Very happy that we did!👍👍👍

  • Kamil Kopryk

    Kamil Kopryk

    7 days ago

    wonderful

  • Orangeman

    Orangeman

    7 days ago

    Looks good in that colour but other colours I find all that grey/silver plastic just draws my attention and I hate it. Overall seems like a great EV. Some of the gadgetry I could live without such as electric rear seats (save the weight & more stuff to go wrong out of warranty) and I don't like the displays which just look a bit cheap, bland looking. Currently I get 5.4 miles/kwh from a 120AH i3, I'd like to see that improved, although of course the i3 is lighter than still the majority of EV's so with a large battery in the Ioniq there's that weight penalty but if it can get 5miles/kwh that's good I think.

  • Matt Butcher

    Matt Butcher

    7 days ago

    Are all the braking options that were mentioned (including auto) available on the base SE connect model?

  • Chelaru Cristian

    Chelaru Cristian

    7 days ago

    don't be a hypocrite please, you go with the Golf R that you praised so much...you have no opinion on your own

  • robert atkins

    robert atkins

    8 days ago

    loooks like pretty good car but most evs are compared to teslas for a reason, when all the other ev s are being compared to this car or hyundai,s then they'll know they have a good car

  • edgars džeriņš

    edgars džeriņš

    8 days ago

    Hyndai Ioniq 5 (also respective Kia GT) looks better than BMW electric cars! Even most ICE BMWs. And certainly more reliable!

  • a h

    a h

    8 days ago

    Rather than a recliner, what I think would have been clutch for an EV is having the steering wheel retract and a fold out table so you can eat or use a laptop comfortably. Grabbing lunch and then going to a recharge station is something I would definitely do.

  • Coben Black

    Coben Black

    8 days ago

    I feel like my grandad. As someone who only buys cars once they get down the depreciation chain a lot I look at all these gadgets and think that’s awesome. I wonder how much it’s going to cost to fix when it breaks? 😂

    • Richard Turton

      Richard Turton

      4 days ago

      Too many "bells and whistles" to go wrong.

  • Chris Malan

    Chris Malan

    8 days ago

    The sleeping feature is for when the battery recharges. You'll need it.

    • 99SamIAm99

      99SamIAm99

      15 hours ago

      Chris Malan "The sleeping feature is for when the battery recharges. You'll need it." 10 to 80% in 18 minutes?

  • Harry Mclean

    Harry Mclean

    8 days ago

    Somehow they have made the Austin Meastro styling look cool. How? Lol

  • IONIQ 5

    IONIQ 5

    8 days ago

    The exterior is just damn awesome!

  • Rainer Eisenbach

    Rainer Eisenbach

    9 days ago

    Great vid,superbly presented and the Ioniq is certainly a great electric car. But it is also a big car and its width can be very awkward with your standard garage and in narrow parking garages and some European town centres. It seems to me better suited for the American market.

  • Bendik Rødseth

    Bendik Rødseth

    9 days ago

    Look! it has brunost-signs!

  • Jos Rehli

    Jos Rehli

    9 days ago

    Great review, love the car. Time to upgrade from my Kia Soul EV…

  • Clement Siby

    Clement Siby

    9 days ago

    I think you have a particular passenger in mind eh?

  • G Moran

    G Moran

    9 days ago

    That UI blows the ID3/4 totally out of the water.

  • Mingmong Sinkscum Artichoke

    Mingmong Sinkscum Artichoke

    9 days ago

    Just picked mine up yesterday. Everything he says is true. Such a great car. Such a good drive. Sitting in the driving seat is comfortable and a great position. One thing not mentioned is the reclining and sliding rear seats

    • Mingmong Sinkscum Artichoke

      Mingmong Sinkscum Artichoke

      6 days ago

      @Chris Gomez I got a stock model so didn't go for any options. The sound system is pretty decent though. Not sure what upgrades are available in the UK models.

    • Chris Gomez

      Chris Gomez

      6 days ago

      How is the sound system. Did they give you option in the stereo dept?

  • Greg Dee

    Greg Dee

    10 days ago

    BMW 540i from 1998 had reclining seats like that.... lighting and stereo... Mobile living room..

  • Carl Stringer

    Carl Stringer

    10 days ago

    Got to admit this is a nice car
    Ticks every box
    And I'm not an electric car fan

  • Diego Martin Martin Diego

    Diego Martin Martin Diego

    10 days ago

    Vandalized by El zorro .
    Excelente .
    Love the car

  • OptimalTuber

    OptimalTuber

    10 days ago

    You look like a fly in the milk in that car 😀 😀 😀

  • Robert Miller

    Robert Miller

    10 days ago

    Reviewer is too notch

  • gr4yw4rd3n

    gr4yw4rd3n

    10 days ago

    Bro, somebody dent your side door. Ow sorry, my bad... :D

  • תוגאן חטיב

    תוגאן חטיב

    10 days ago

    That was a long ad!

  • Bill Green

    Bill Green

    10 days ago

    Which is great but it is still around £40k. I keep being told that EVs are CLEARLY cheaper to run than ICE. However if it is so obvious why is the way to get people to switch compulsion.

  • Dhrubajyoti Kumar Ghosh

    Dhrubajyoti Kumar Ghosh

    10 days ago

    It’s resembles somewhat to that of a BYD EV hatchback which is popular in Singapore.

  • TeeBOY TSHEPO

    TeeBOY TSHEPO

    10 days ago

    This car is awesome

  • Sobano S

    Sobano S

    11 days ago

    You are driving on the wrong side of the road.

  • Teisha Shojgreen

    Teisha Shojgreen

    11 days ago

    Can you review the Hyundai kona

  • Corrado

    Corrado

    11 days ago

    I tought it was lancia delta this one .great design

  • Dongsa

    Dongsa

    11 days ago

    Come on UK, it's not "Hi-yoon-die" jesus christ.
    Take a moment to try just a little bit.
    If you can hear it, you can say it.

  • Adnan Jusic

    Adnan Jusic

    11 days ago

    Looks awesome outside.. not soo much inside. Better car than tesla m3 ;)

  • K E

    K E

    11 days ago

    Alfa RZ

  • harper21221

    harper21221

    11 days ago

    HORRIBLE DATED LOOK - LOOKS LIKE 1990'S OLD VW GOLF

  • Harry Axe

    Harry Axe

    11 days ago

    Are you testing this car, or selling them?

  • Cy Berista

    Cy Berista

    11 days ago

    If you squint it looks like an Allegro. Good luck trying to unsee that! :)

  • Silver Paladin

    Silver Paladin

    11 days ago

    That would be Hyundai said like Sunday. so Hunday lol.

  • Steve Hayward

    Steve Hayward

    11 days ago

    Not in the same league as Tesla

  • Mike Gipson

    Mike Gipson

    11 days ago

    Lancia Delta Integrale on steroids - mind Giugiaro designed both... :) Great car and great review :)

  • bernvall

    bernvall

    11 days ago

    It’s between this and the Cupra Born for me (even though it’s not out yet) so I can’t really compare them yet. This however might beat it!

  • Callum Talulah

    Callum Talulah

    11 days ago

    A reclining seat what can it be used for ummmm hahahahahahaha

  • Pontus Ödqvist

    Pontus Ödqvist

    11 days ago

    Great video. One thing though which, in my opinion, is an important one. How does it connect with your cellphone? Both Apple Carplay and Android Auto of course. That is features you run everyday wether it is Spotify (Tidal perhaps), listening to pods or making phone calls. Does it work properly?

  • Puro

    Puro

    12 days ago

    Farther, you can make it go even farther.

  • FiveCylinder Perfection

    FiveCylinder Perfection

    12 days ago

    The parking feature for tight spaces will most likely end up with the owners of the other cars denting your door because you squeezed your Ioniq 5 in so close. Good if you return to your car before they do though.

  • Ninaa Kari

    Ninaa Kari

    12 days ago

    Does it have fart sound option for turn signals?

  • Ashley Byram

    Ashley Byram

    12 days ago

    does no one remember when renault had the exact same idea for the centre console in the gen 2 scenics?

  • Alexander Jokkmok

    Alexander Jokkmok

    13 days ago

    Oh man I love this review. DeLorean/Ioniq5 yes that's the thing 👍🙂👍.

  • DLH

    DLH

    13 days ago

    Rory mate, this is your best video by far! Love it!!!

  • Torleif Gundersen

    Torleif Gundersen

    13 days ago

    Seems like it would be hard to find in the UK, since you had to get one from Norway for this review.

  • KT

    KT

    13 days ago

    cool car

  • Adam

    Adam

    13 days ago

    This is dead ass the first Hyundai I’d actually consider buying. It reminds me of Golf Mk II and I’m into it. I just wish it offered a black headliner. Unless there’s a sport-ish version that includes it, it’s a no from me. Still love it though.

  • Mika Davies

    Mika Davies

    13 days ago

    Why is no tester mentioning that this £50k car has virtually no options when it comes to colour! Grey, White or dark Grey, blue Grey or green Grey!!

  • L. Hettrick

    L. Hettrick

    13 days ago

    "It's not even my hedge!" lol

  • L. Hettrick

    L. Hettrick

    13 days ago

    A glove drawer is brilliant!

    • Passions

      Passions

      13 days ago

      Absolutely. I can see other car companies copying this idea.

  • pulpopelirojo68

    pulpopelirojo68

    13 days ago

    Why is a 5-door hatchback now called a crossover?! It's just hatchback with rear or AWD...

  • 2namtaB

    2namtaB

    13 days ago

    Looking online your looking at a price in the UK similar to a Tesla Model 3 around £40,000 with the extras or £3,000 less without the extras.
    **EDIT**
    Scratch that looks like the price for the car in this video is closer to £50,000.

  • blankpaper66

    blankpaper66

    13 days ago

    Wow that looks sensational.
    Strong contender for a future daily driver.

  • Pradana Wp

    Pradana Wp

    13 days ago

    Than kia ev6, i think its better😍

  • Tasos Fikos

    Tasos Fikos

    13 days ago

    The dashboard is super ugly. I hope one manufacturer will stop this nonsense with the touch screens and the big screens. While you drive you can only make and see minimal things safely, primarily with a button that you already know where it is. Tesla introduced the "screen" because it was cheap and quality buttons are expensive. You car journalists should be more realistic and down to earth , instead of being cheerleaders of silly innovations. I want a car that is primarily overall safe, efficient and easy to maintain. Where is all that info?

  • Moss Mini

    Moss Mini

    13 days ago

    Like Tesla. Oh stop it.

  • John Rose

    John Rose

    14 days ago

    Few reviewers tackle the concerns of the cash buyer looking for a long term investment. This is fine if you can afford to change your car regularly.

  • M M

    M M

    14 days ago

    I am SOLD.

  • Farhan

    Farhan

    14 days ago

    6:25

  • biz4two biz4

    biz4two biz4

    14 days ago

    Hyundai Ioniq 5 or vw ID.4?? Vote now!! haha